Street: A Snowy Day In Ottawa

Metcalfe & Laurier: January 19, 2014

Initially I processed this image in black & white but it just didn’t quite seem to work. Tone mapped and in colour did work so, for your perusal, I offer the rare (for me anyway) colour street image of a snowy day in Ottawa 🙂

About Marcel
Biker, amateur photographer, non-authoritarian, and sometimes commentor on things political, who likes playing in social media

4 Responses to Street: A Snowy Day In Ottawa

  1. Inge says:

    What is your standard to create or convert an image to black and white? Before you shot, have you decided in your mind whether to create a BW image or not? 🙂

    • Marcel says:

      That actually depends on what I’m shooting Inge. In street scenes I’m looking through the view finder and seeing colour with my eye but envisioning the black and white end point in my mind and deciding whether it should be a darker/heaver image with high contrast, or whether it should be lighter and less contrasty like the image I posted today.

      In processing this image the different textures and colours convinced me in relatively short order that what I thought was in the image when I pressed the shutter wasn’t actually there as I envisioned it to be, and that a colour tone mapped image was – so that is what I went with.

      I guess that’s a round about way of saying that the image knows what it wants to be, and sometimes we’re in sync with that and sometimes we have to look a little bit further to discover what that is 🙂

      • Inge says:

        Thank you very much for your sharing, Marcel. Really appreciated.

        I’m only an amateur and still don’t know what to look at it in order to create a BW image. But I noted what you’ve said above.

  2. Marcel says:

    As with all things, practice makes perfect Inge – or as close as we can hope to get to that state 🙂

    I spend a fair amount of time on G+ (there are wonderfully huge photography communities there) looking at the work of contemporaries in my genre, checking their Exif data for camera settings, and learning from their composition. I do the same with the work of historical masters like Vivian Maier, Robert Frank, Alvin Coburn, Alfred Stieglitz, Robert Capa, Henri Cartier-Bresson, and Andre Kertesz…….. their work has so much to teach us.

    This particular image was shot with the ancient 7.1 MP Canon A710 PowerShot that lives in my jacket pocket, bought used on line for the grand total of $40 a few years ago. It’s small, light, fits nicely in my hand and allows me to be, as they say, free from the [camera] bag. When I’m out for a purposeful photo-walk, and depending on the light and circumstance, I carry it and either my D5 or D1000 – but the most important thing is not the gear, it’s getting out there every day and doing it 🙂

Leave a Reply

