Old School (II)

old school

Another shot of the old school chopper that attended last evenings motorcycle cruise night, and when it pulled in I was really glad I had put the DSLR in my saddle bags instead of just carrying my little PowerShot A710 pocket camera.

Once upon a time, back in the day, it was not unusual to see these bikes, now they’re show stoppers.

The shot involved laying down on the pavement with my favourite motorcycle lens (10-20mm) – I got a couple of odd looks but after I got up a couple of other folks with cameras laid down and did the same :-)

About Marcel
Biker, amateur photographer, non-authoritarian, and sometimes commentor on things political, who likes playing in social media

6 Responses to Old School (II)

  1. ehpem says:

    Nice shot, great point of view. I saw a few of these old school choppers go by as part of a swarm of bikes last weekend – some gathering or other. It was pretty nostalgic to see guys riding along with handlebars up at head height, or higher!

    • Marcel says:

      Thanks, and yes, it is nice to see the old school rides out and about – the high handlebars (we call them ape hangers here) are all but gone, Ontario outlawed them for some reason and now anything over 15″ is verboten.

      • ehpem says:

        Ahh, that might explain why I have not seen one for so long – the bikes I saw were in Washington State. I expect BC does not allow them either.

  2. uglicoyote says:

    Reblogged this on HardRider.

  3. What a great perspective, I just love the rake on the forks, it gives it so much drama and character! Sadly I don’t see enough of these bikes on our roads anymore, if my wife would let me, I’d have one of these in a heartbeat. Unfortunately my reputation behind the wheel precedes me and I have to live vicariously through photographs like yours here Marcel. GREAT work!!

Leave a Reply

