Black & White: At the End of the Canal

end of the locks

Where the Rideau Canal meets the Ottawa River.

I’ve shot this scene 3 days in a row now and this is the first image I’ve been semi-satisfied with posting. I could stand on the first gate and get a nice wide angle view down the locks (which is close to what I’m thinking of) but I want that gate in the frame, and the only way to get that, and to see passed it down the locks, seems to be from this vantage point on a bridge.

Today I brought the 5D with a 10-20mm lens (with a 24mm in reserve) downtown and I’m going to give it another go to see if I can come closer to what I see in my minds eye.

Maybe if I can figure out a way to crawl up and under the bridge to get a better angle it will work the way I want it to 🙂

About Marcel
Biker, amateur photographer, non-authoritarian, and sometimes commentor on things political, who likes playing in social media

3 Responses to Black & White: At the End of the Canal

  1. Gracie says:

    This is beautiful, Marcel. The black and white treatment works like a charm on this photo. I think you’ve done a really awesome job on this.

  2. Know-All says:

    i love this one!!

  3. Marcel says:

    Thanks Gracie and Know-All, I went back today with a bigger camera and a very wide angle lens, shot the shots, and decided I like this one better as the [very] wide angle lens distortion that I normally like detracts from this image.

    I did have fun with the 10-20mm lens though ….. not sure why I don’t spin it on more often than I do as I always seem to have fun with it.

Leave a Reply

