HDR: Vault

vault

An image of a vault 40 or 50 feet underground at the Diefenbunker cold war bunker in Carp, Ontario

Aside: There have not been a lot of images lately for a couple of reasons. I have been doing a fair bit of research and reading regarding Gestalt Theory as it pertains to art and photography, and that has been taking up ‘camera in hand‘ time. It is, however, important information that can be used in creating better images so (IMO) the time investment is certainly worth it.

Additional to that, my street photography is in the midst of a personal redefinition of purpose that has me looking at what the early masters of the genre thought and said, and coming to the conclusion that the contemporary amateur street photographer may be (in many cases) misinterpreting those thoughts and ideas. So it’s not that I’m not out there on the street with my camera, in between research sessions on Gestalt Theory and comparing what people like Robert Capa and Henri Cartier-Bresson said about photography and what they did with their cameras, I am out there – but with my evolving definition of what I want my street photography to look like I’m not pressing the shutter as often.

About Marcel
Biker, amateur photographer, non-authoritarian, and sometimes commentor on things political, who likes playing in social media

7 Responses to HDR: Vault

  1. This image is wonderful. Obviously, with incredibly poor lighting, it took a lot of processing. However the result is very “realistic”.
    Also, I am impressed that you are expanding your knowledge and creativity. Not an easy endeavor. But certainly worth the effort. I am also getting out of my comfort zone recently, at least am trying to.

    • Marcel says:

      Thanks, glad you like it. It’s a 5 bracket HDR image that I tone mapped for effect. Nope, I tell a lie, this one was a 1.6 second exposure @ f7 / ISO 200 tone mapped for effect 🙂

      The light was tremendously crappy, but I knew it would be before arrival so I was shooting with a tripod & remote shutter.

  2. jkmhoffman says:

    Reblogged this on kjmhoffman.

  3. ehpem says:

    Ha! I have been working backwards through your recent posts, thinking Diefenbunker (though I have never been there), This is a very cool shot -not only the cold colour, but the light and that mirror at the corner. People must have anticipated running in these corridors. Or perhaps defending them?

    • Marcel says:

      As I recall it this particular image came from 4 floors below ground level – the corridor the vault is in perplexed me as it is very narrow, barely wide enough for the vault door to swing in, and goes no where.

Leave a Reply

