Ah Instagram, I’m Glad I Never Knew You

Because there are a couple of Instagram users following my posts

Instagram says it now has the right to sell your photos

In its first big policy shift since Facebook bought the photo-sharing site, Instagram claims the right to sell users’ photos without payment or notification. Oh, and there’s no way to opt out.

Yeah, there is a way to opt out; if I was an Instagram users I’d be deleting my images and closing my account – the most effective opt out on the planet.

About Marcel
Biker, amateur photographer, non-authoritarian, and sometimes commentor on things political, who likes playing in social media

2 Responses to Ah Instagram, I’m Glad I Never Knew You

  1. Gracie says:

    I just saw their new ToS too, and although I used their service in the past, I was never really active, so glad as I am now closing my Instagram account.

  2. Marcel says:

    Aye, I just had a quick look at the current Facebook ToS and was not amused

    “For content that is covered by intellectual property rights, like photos and videos (IP content), you specifically give us the following permission, subject to your privacy and application settings: you grant us a non-exclusive, transferable, sub-licensable, royalty-free, worldwide license to use any IP content that you post on or in connection with Facebook (IP License).”

    I’ve been slowly moving to Google+ over the last few months anyway, their ToS is not quite as invasive so I’ll link images from there on Facebook. Images here are almost 100% hosted on flickr and they’re not so invasive either.

Leave a Reply

