HDR: One Shot & One Shot Only

pow-wow dancer

Shooting at a competition pow-wow is easy, it’s a competition and most of the time every dancer is a subject – there are exceptions – pay attention to the MC.

Shooting at a traditional pow-wow (where I was shooting today) is considerably different; there are many times when protocol dictates that you simply cannot shoot, and, given that you are a guest on someone elses land, you don’t want to offend anyone who may not want their picture taken when shooting is permitted.

My way of dealing with this is pretty simple, I place myself in an area where I can see, and be clearly seen by, the dancers with my camera half-raised and in plain sight, and watch a couple of rounds of a dance – if a dancer indicates any sort of disapproval I make a mental note not to capture an image of them.

During the first couple of rounds of one dance this dancer looked directly at me as she passed by, on the 3rd or 4th round I raised the camera to my eye when she came into view, she looked directly into the lens, I clicked, lowered the camera, and she never looked at me again…. I was given one shot, and one shot only.

About Marcel
Biker, amateur photographer, non-authoritarian, and sometimes commentor on things political, who likes playing in social media

One Response to HDR: One Shot & One Shot Only

Leave a Reply

