Black & White: Lost Shoe

shoe

So I saw this shoe, just as you see it here, on the edge of the sidewalk outside my apartment building this afternoon, and since I’ve been tied up with other things today (long story, and not one that amused me either) and haven’t had any time to spend with the camera I shot it – with my smartphone.

Briefly I considered doing a “and I shall scour the land, or at the very least my apartment complex, until I find the owner of the lost shoe, and when I find her………” type post, but then I thought, “nah, it’s been a long day and I’m not up for a quest“, so I didn’t.

As I squatted down, smartphone in hand, to take the picture I wondered what the story behind the shoe on the sidewalk was, and what the best way to present the image might be. Maybe it just fell out of the box on the way to the car…… but maybe it was part of a lovers quarrel on the 8th floor that became a flying casualty of the argument. Maybe a child wanted to see if it could fly, tossed it off the balcony, and is even now fearfully wondering how (if?) they will tell mommy where her other shoe is?

We’ll probably never know, and I’m still left wondering about the best way to present an image of shoe on the sidewalk.

About Marcel
Biker, amateur photographer, non-authoritarian, and sometimes commentor on things political, who likes playing in social media

Leave a Reply

