Evolution & Theory Of A Deadman

People who know me know that I’m a big (big) fan of the rock ‘n roll show, and I go every chance I get. Last night was Theory of A Deadman on the last stop of their “#OccupyCanada” tour, and tonight is Deep Purple on the Ottawa leg of their “Smoke on the Nation” tour – the image below is of front man Tyler Connolly [Lead Vocals & Lead Guitar] last night. As I was looking at it, and all of the images I captured, I was struck by how they have evolved over the last year and a half.

One of the things I noticed was that I didn’t have any wide shots of the band, all of them are focused on a single individual – a year and a half ago they would have been primarily wide shots of the whole stage.

I think that I’m less focused on the “experiential” side of picture taking at an event like that and more focused on the individual moments. That is to say that I seem to find myself less concerned with capturing an image that a group of people who were in attendance at the show, or who know the band, could identify with, and more concerned with capturing a moment of the show.

That idea can lso be seen in the Sundogs image – there was a whole band behind the guy I shot, but I was less interested in capturing the whole image and concentrating on passion and expression.

What does this mean for my photography? I’m not sure, I guess I’ll have to wait and see what my friends and the people I show my images to have to say about them.

About Marcel
Biker, amateur photographer, non-authoritarian, and sometimes commentor on things political, who likes playing in social media

4 Responses to Evolution & Theory Of A Deadman

  1. angie brenner says:

    I like the one shot, where are the rest of the pictures? Can I not see them on my phone or is that the only one you posted?

    • Marcel says:

      I’ve only posted the the 1 image Angie, I have considered setting up a facebook page to create galleries of images but haven’t got around to it yet – maybe I should ‘eh?

      Tell me, are any relation to David Brenner? He is one awesome guitarist, I got a few shots shots of him if you’d like them.

  2. obrienspix says:

    Love your taste in music…great shot.

    • Marcel says:

      Thanks Jason, my musical tastes are pretty eclectic – Tuesday was Theory of a Deadman, last night was Deep Purple, I drove for 2 hours a week or so ago to see a little blues band, and I’ll probably end up at the Red Hot Chili Peppers show next month… am also a big big fan of cowpunk, psychobilly, and east cost Gaelic-folk-punk 🙂

Leave a Reply

